City Government / Council

City Government

The City of West Plains operates under a Home Rule City Charter, adopted by the citizens in 2014. It provides for a Council/Manager form of government. The city is governed by a City Council comprised of the Mayor and four Council members, who serve four-year terms. All Council members are voted on by qualified voters of the city.

Click here for this month’s City Council meeting agenda

City Council

Jack PahlmannMayor Jack Pahlmann was first elected to the City Council in 2000, and was appointed Mayor Pro Tem in 2003. He was subsequently re-elected in 2004, 2008, and 2012. He was appointed Mayor in August, 2012 upon the death of his predecessor, and was re-elected Mayor in 2015. Mayor Pahlmann oversees the Police, Fire, Health, Legal,  Municipal Court, Animal Control, Economic Development, Planning and Zoning, Emergency Management, Building Inspector, and Safety/Public Information Departments for the City of West Plains. He can be reached by calling 417-256-7176, or by e-mail at
StewartCouncilman Cary Stewart was elected in 2016. His term will expire in April, 2020. Cary oversees Department of Parks and Public Property, including Parks, Transit, Library, and Golf Course. He can be reached at 256-7777 or by  by e-mail at
Brenda SmithMayor Pro-Tem Brenda Smith was first elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014. Her term will expire in April, 2018. Brenda oversees City Hall, Administration, Civic Center, Tourist Development, Purchasing/Warehouse, & the Housing Authority. She can be reached by calling 417-256-0873 or by e-mail at
Mike TopliffCouncilman Mike Topliff was elected in 2013 to a four year term. His term will expire in April, 2017, Mike oversees the Department of Public Utilities, including Water, Sewer, Waste Water Treatment, Electric, Refuse, Engineering/Engineering Construction, and Planning & Zoning. He can be reached by email at
Josh CotterCouncilman Josh Cotter was elected in 2015 to a four year term. His term will expire in April, 2019, Josh oversees the Department of Streets & Public Improvement, including Street, Cemetery, Airport, Shop and Street Construction. Josh can be reached by email at

City Code Book – Click here

City Tax Rate

State sales tax 4.225%
City general 1.0%
City transportation .5%
City capital improvements .5%
County general .5%
County law .25%
County 911 .1875
Total           7.162%


Citizen Boards

Citizen's Board

Another important part of the city’s government process is the involvement of citizen boards. City Council appoints citizens to these boards as yet another attempt to involve the community in the decision making process. These board members make important recommendations to the City Council after studying the facts. Please contact us at City Hall at 417-256-7176 about any issue relating to these boards, which are listed below:

  • Board of Adjustments
  • Board of City Pride
  • Civic Center Board
  • Community Improvement Districts
  • Electrical Board
  • Galloway Creek Advisory Board
  • Housing Authority
  • Improvement Authority Board
  • Industrial Development
  • Land Clearance for Redevelopment
  • LEBG Advisory Board
  • Park Board
  • Planning Commission
  • TIF Commission
  • Tourist Development Council

Comments are closed